Skip to content

Teddy Buoy BSS final hurdle.

January 17, 2024

Yesterday I was joined by my eldest and together we investigated why certain electrical items weren’t working. The horn, the searchlight and the wiper in particular. I am convinced there is a connection, or more to the point there is a missing connection, that is preventing all these items from working.

When I say ‘we’ investigated that is a slight exaggeration. I watched while Toby used various very sophisticated meters to test various unsophisticated circuits. Meters that quite honestly I wouldn’t even know how to turn on, let alone interpret the information that was being transmitted from them. That money spent on the kid’s education definitely wasn’t wasted.

A snapshot of just a part of spaghetti junction.

Anyway, as usual, I was completely wrong. Each item had chosen to stop working quite independently of each other. The wiper motor was ‘fubar’d’ having rotted internally, and the horn was on silent mode. A horn on silent mode? That’s how I imagine Anne Frank’s drum kit would have worked, The searchlight, well I’ve yet to establish the reason that stopped searching but probably like everything else, it’s just been beaten by the weather and given up. After all, who can blame it?

A job for the Repair Shop?

Apart from attempting to mend, or more likely replacing today’s broken items, my eye is still firmly on fitting the fridge. A continuing project that in my opinion now takes on number one priority. Should certainly push my O-Level carpentry skills to the limit.

The good news is while we were freezing our nuts off fiddling with wires in sub zero temperatures this morning, the Boat Safety man came, checked and passed the required work and has issued me with a BSS certificate. At least, as far as that particular hurdle is concerned, I can relax for the next 4 years.

Issued to both the old and new name.

From → Travel

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment